外汇和杠杆

介绍

从广义上讲,财务杠杆描述了用于为购买资产提供资金的借入资金或债务的数量。它被交易者使用,他们期望从所购资产中获得的收入或资本收益超过相关的借贷成本。
通常也称为杠杆,杠杆是指公司用于为其运营提供资金的债务与股权的相对比例。比例越高,杠杆越高。
高杠杆率的公司比低负债率的公司更容易受到经济衰退的影响,因为它需要支付利息并从其现金流中偿还债务,而现金流在经济衰退时期可能会捉襟见肘。
然而,高负债并不一定是件坏事——当利率较低时,借款可能是一种比要求股东为投资提供资金更便宜的投资选择,后者将以股票升值和/或股息的形式寻求回报.

外汇杠杆

在外汇交易中,杠杆代表交易者资金相对于经纪商提供的信用额度的比率。外汇交易吸引如此多的人的原因之一是,所提供的杠杆量通常大于股票等其他投资工具所能提供的杠杆量。换句话说,可以用较低的保证金承诺借到更多的钱。这使交易者能够在货币按预期变动时赚取可观的利润。然而,它也可能适得其反,如果其中一种基础货币以另一种方式移动,则使投资者蒙受重大损失。
为了在外汇市场进行交易,交易者必须首先在持牌经纪商处开设一个保证金账户——允许他们用借入的资金购买货币,以换取现金或其他资产的存款作为抵押以弥补风险。
提供的杠杆数量取决于经纪商、交易者的风险状况和交易头寸的规模,但历史上的范围从 50:1 到 100:1。 50:1的比例意味着保证金-存入交易账户的现金为1/50 = 2%; 100:1 的比率需要 1% 的保证金。

在某些情况下,可以使用高达 200:1 的杠杆,但这通常适用于较小的交易——少于 50,000 单位的货币。这与基于 100,000 单位货币的标准交易手数不同。

(标准手数是这个大小,因为成功的外汇交易是基于利用两种货币对之间的增量变动。任何一笔交易的潜在利润都不值得相关成本——只有当它组合成一个大的标准“手数”时使外汇交易在商业上可行)。
相比之下,股票交易通常可用的杠杆为 2:1,期货市场约为 15:1。提供的杠杆如此之大的原因是因为通常外汇市场每天只变动很小的比例(在正常的日内交易中不到 1%)——因此,市场对大幅和突然波动的总风险要小得多。
从理论上讲,如果交易者的交易账户中有 10,000 美元,并且他们持有 100,000 美元的标准交易头寸,那么他们将以其账户的 10 倍杠杆进行交易。然而,实际上,交易者很少将他们的整个账户用作每笔交易的保证金,因为如果市场对他们不利,这会给他们带来太大的风险。

外汇市场中杠杆的危险

虽然外汇市场提供赚取可观利润的机会,但统计数据表明,对于大多数交易者而言,情况恰恰相反——80% 到 90% 的交易以亏损告终。
这就是高杠杆实际上对交易者不利的地方,也是为什么它被称为“双刃”剑的原因。虽然投资者使用杠杆来增加投资回报,但它也增加了风险敞口,因为它放大了货币市场的波动。而且,由于外汇市场的手数,高杠杆交易会迅速耗尽交易账户。
外汇交易新手常犯的一个错误是使用尽可能高的杠杆来最大化潜在利润。然而,如果情况相反——例如在 2015 年发生的那样,当瑞士放弃欧元/瑞士法郎挂钩时——那么一个账户可能会很快消失。
从历史上看,部分问题是各种外汇经纪商的激进营销,当交易者发现自己处于亏损状态时,他们可以从增加的保证金中获利。
这就是为什么一些监管机构采取行动限制投资者可以使用的杠杆数量。例如,欧洲安全和市场管理局 (ESMA) 已将经纪商可为主要货币对提供给零售交易者的杠杆降低至 30:1,而对于非主要货币对,则限制为 20:1。他们还禁止使用奇异的金融工具,如二元期权和差价合约(差价合约)。
然而,有经验的交易者并不仅仅依靠市场监管来限制他们的风险敞口,而是足够明智地认识到成功的关键是防止损失,而不是追逐巨额利润。例如,他们将始终使用保护性止损策略——一种旨在保护现有收益或通过止损单或限价单限制损失的策略。
另一种常用的策略是实施最大每日损失金额——一旦达到此阈值,所有头寸必须平仓,并且在下一个每日交易时段开始之前不能发起新交易。
应该限制​​的不仅仅是损失。当货币偏离当前市场价格时,可以使用追踪止损等技术来实现收益。
交易者的主要防御措施是不要使用提供给他们的所有杠杆。选择限制他们在任何一个头寸上使用的交易资金数量可能不会给他们带来任何超额利润,但会提供更大的长期成功确定性。

计算杠杆

保证金杠杆的计算方法是将交易总价值除以交易者需要存入的保证金金额:
基于保证金的杠杆 = 交易总额/所需保证金。
例如,如果交易者需要存入交易总额的 1%,并打算以一标准手美元/欧元进行交易,相当于 100,000 美元,则所需保证金为 1,000 美元。这意味着杠杆为 100:1

实际杠杆(实际处于风险中的金额)除以总数;交易资金的未平仓头寸面值。

实际杠杆=交易总价值/总交易资金

虽然这些杠杆比率可以手动确定,但大多数交易者转而依赖 MetaTrader 电子交易平台,在线零售外汇交易者使用该平台为他们计算这些数字。
MetaTrader 4 及其继任者 MetaTrader 5 被外汇市场的经纪人和交易客户使用,他们使用它来管理他们的账户、下订单和查看实时流媒体价格。最近,KeySoft 开发的 资金账户经理 等插件已将这些平台的实用性扩展到整个外汇交易社区。

结论

与股票和期货市场提供的等价物相比,外汇市场提供的高杠杆使它们对交易者具有吸引力,使投资者能够以相对较少的资本持有大量头寸。

然而,高杠杆可能意味着高风险,监管当局已经通过限制经纪人可以向零售交易者提供的杠杆数量的措施来解决这一因素。鉴于绝大多数外汇交易都会导致亏损,因此新手显然需要在开始交易前保持警惕。
然而,这并不意味着杠杆是值得担心的。通过在每笔交易中使用少量金额、使用保护性损失策略和每日最大损失限额,可以有效管理下行风险,同时锁定并实现收益。

菜单
Ask a qestion

Forex and Leverage

Introduction

In broad terms, financial leverage describes the amount of borrowed money, or debt, used to finance the purchase of assets. It is used by traders who expect the income, or capital gain, from the asset acquired, to exceed the related cost of borrowing.
Also commonly known as gearing, leverage refers to the relative proportion of debt to equity used by a corporation to fund its operations. The higher the proportion, the higher the gearing.
A highly leveraged firm is more susceptible to downturns in the economy than one with lower gearing, because it needs to meet interest payments and service its debt obligation out of its cash flow which may be stretched in recessionary periods.
However, a high gearing is not necessarily a bad thing – when interest rates are low, borrowing can be a cheaper option to fund investments than asking shareholders to finance investments, who will be looking for returns in the form of stock appreciation and/or dividends.

Forex Leverage

In Forex Trading, leverage represents the ratio of the trader’s funds relative to the credit offer by the broker. One of the reasons that so many people are attracted to FX Trading is because the amount of leverage on offer is often greater than that available with other investment vehicles like stocks. In other words, more money can be borrowed with a lower margin commitment. This offers traders the ability to earn substantial profits when currencies move as anticipated. However, it can also backfire, and expose the investor to substantial losses if one of the underlying currencies moves the other way.
In order to trade in the Forex market, a trader must first open a margin account with a licenced broker – that allows them to buy currencies with borrowed funds, in exchange for the deposit of cash or other assets as collateral to cover the risk.
The amount of leverage provided depends on the broker, the risk profile of the trader, and the size of the trading position, but historically ranged from 50:1 to 100:1. A 50:1 ratio means that the margin – cash deposited in the trading account is 1/50 = 2%; a 100:1 ratio requires a margin of 1%.

In some instances leverage up to 200:1 is available, but this is normally in the case of smaller trades – less than 50,000 units of currency. This is as opposed to standard trading lots which are based on 100,000 units of currency.

(The standard lots are this size because successful FX trading is based on exploiting incremental movements between two paired currencies. The potential profit from any one trade is not worth the associated cost – it is only when it is combined in a large standard “lot” that forex trading becomes commercially viable).
By contrast, the amount of leverage typically available when trading in stocks is 2: 1 and the futures market around 15:1. The reason that the leverage on offer is so much greater is because normally Forex Markets only move by a small proportion every day (less than 1% during normal intraday trading) – therefore, the total market exposure to large and sudden fluctuations is much less.
Theoretically, if a trader has US $10,000 in their trading account, and they take a standard trading position of US $100,000, then they will be trading with 10 times the leverage on their account. In reality, however, traders rarely use their entire accounts as margin for each of their trades, as this exposes them too great a risk if the market moves against them.

The dangers of leverage in Forex markets

Whilst Forex markets offer the opportunity to earn serious profits, the statistics suggest that, for the majority of traders, the opposite is the case – between 80% and 90% of all trades end in losses.
This is where high leverage can actually work against a trader, and why it has become known as a “double-edged” sword. Whilst leverage is used by investors to increase the return on investments, it increases also the exposure to risk as it magnifies currency market movements. And, due to the lot sizes of FX markets, a highly leveraged trade can quickly deplete a trading account.
A mistake commonly made by those new to FX trading is to use the highest leverage possible in order to maximise the potential profit. However, if the situation goes the other way – as occurred in 2015, for example, when Switzerland abandoned the Euro/Swiss Franc peg – then an account can be quickly wiped out.
Part of the trouble, historically, has been aggressive marketing by various Forex brokers, who stand to gain from the increased margin that they stand to make when a trader finds themselves in a losing position.
That is why some regulatory authorities have taken action to limit the amount of leverage to which investors have access. For example, the European Security and Markets Authority (ESMA) has reduced the leverage that brokers can offer retail traders to 30:1 for major currency pairs, whilst, for non-major currency pairs it is restricted to 20:1. They have also prohibited the use of exotic financial instruments such as binary options and CFDs (Contracts for Difference).
However, experienced traders do not rely on market regulation alone to limit their exposure, but are wise enough to have learned that the key to success is preventing losses, more than chasing large profits. For example, they will always use a protective stop loss strategy – a strategy designed to safeguard existing gains, or restrict losses via a stop-loss order or limit order.
Another tactic often used is to implement a maximum daily loss amount – once this threshold has been reached, all positions must be closed, and no new trades can be initiated until the next daily trading session begins.
It is not just losses that should be capped. Techniques like trailing stops can be used to realise gains when a currency has moved away from a current market price.
The main defence that a trader has though is not to use all the leverage that has on offer to them. Choosing to restrict the amount of trading capital that they use on any one position may not yield them any excess profits but offers much greater certainty of long-term success.

Calculating Leverage

Margin-based leverage is calculated by dividing the total value of the transaction by the amount of margin that the trader is required to deposit:
Margin-based leverage = Total Value of Transaction/Margin Required.
For example, if a trader was required to deposit 1% of the total value traded, and intended to trade in one standard lot of US $/Euros, equivalent to US $100,000, then the required margin would be US $1,000. This means that the leverage would be 100:1

Real leverage (the amount that is actually at risk) divides the total; face value of open positions by the trading capital.

Real leverage = Total Value of Transaction/Total Trading Capital

Whilst these leverage ratios can be determined by hand, most traders instead rely on the MetaTrader electronic trading platform, used by online retail foreign exchange traders to calculate these figure for them.
MetaTrader 4, and its successor, MetaTrader 5, are used by brokers and trading clients in Forex markets, who use it to manage their accounts, place orders, and see live streaming prices. Recently, the development of plug-ins such as the Money Account Manager by KeySoft has extended the utility of these platforms to the entire FX trading community.

Conclusion

The high amounts of leverage on offer in Forex markets, compared to the equivalents on offer in stock and futures markets makes them attractive to traders, enabling investors to take large positions with relatively small amounts of capital.

However, high leverage can mean high risks, a factor that regulatory authorities have addressed with measures limiting the amount of leverage that brokers can offer to retail traders. And given that the vast majority of FX trades results in losses, then novices clearly need to be wary before starting to trade.
However, that does not mean that leverage is something to be feared. By using small amounts on each trade, using protective loss strategies, and daily maximum loss limits, the downside risks can be managed effectively, whilst gains can be locked in and realised.

Menu
Ask a qestion